Announcing the 2022 AER Illinois Individual Awards!

The IAER Awards are now open! The Illinois Individual Award form includes nominees for the Illinois Distinguished Award, the Excellence in Education Award, and the Excellence in Rehabilitation Award. Please submit nomination forms (download below) with all requested paperwork to Sara Edwards at [email protected]Deadline to submit is December 17, 2021.

2022 IAER Community Parter Award Nomination Form (pdf)
2022 IAER Community Parter Award Nomination Form (doc)
2022 IAER Individual Award Nomination Form (pdf)
2022 IAER Individual Award Nomination Form (word)

Do you want to go to Space Camp? Illinois Association for the Education and Rehabilitation of the Blind and Visually Impaired (IAER) is back again and offering a scholarship for Space Camp 2021! The 2021 sessions for SCIVIS (Space Camp for Interested Visually Impaired Students) will be held September (Dates to be announced) at the U.S. Space & Rocket Center in Huntsville, Alabama. SCI-VIS gathers academically oriented, visually impaired students, from around the world. Braille, large print, low vision devices, CCTV’s, refreshable braille displays, synthetic speech, and support from certified teachers of the visually impaired are available during this week to allow the best experience for children with visual impairments.

While at SCI-VIS, students live in a simulated space station called Habitat 1. They have the opportunity to practice their leadership and teamwork abilities as they prepare for two Space Shuttle missions.

Space Camp is open to students from 4th grade (age 10) through high school.  There are four separate programs available, including Space Camp, Aviation Challenge (Mach I, II, & III), Space Academy, Advanced Academy, Robotics Camp, and Robotics Academy. Aviation Challenge, Space Academy and Space Camp cost $965, while the cost for Advanced Academy is $1135.

More information is available at

The Illinois AER scholarship covers the cost to attend.  Families would need to cover travel cost and spending money. For more information regarding this opportunity and to obtain the scholarship application, contact Elizabeth Budzik at 847-436-4553 or [email protected]   

The scholarship application form can be found at

IAER Current Board

President: Jennifer Duncan
President Elect: Diane Tyrrell
Past President: Amy Lund
Secretary: Maura Guimon-Warren
Treasurer: Jasmine Wells

Members at Large:
Dayna Brezezowski
Elizabeth Budzik
Sara Edwards
Kathryn King
Lauren Mehalek
Molly Pasley


Updated September 30, 2021